I Loved You (1-1)

I loved you, last year.

You were good to me.

You were fun, you were sad, you were crazy, you were everything.

You were best friends loved and lost,

Missed and forgotten.

You were new friends turned into new love,

A home for my heart, a start.

You were tears, and cheers, queers, and spilt beers.

You were candle-lit dinners,

And sharing our deepest fears.

You were

Life.

I drink your every month, smell your everyday.

I inhale your seconds and exhale the hours.

I soak you in.

If I could have you again, I wouldn’t.

Lightning only strike once.

So does 2012.

8 responses to “I Loved You (1-1)

  1. Ugh, those last lines are great. The speaker seems to just be completely filled with this person… but then casts her/him off “If I could have you again, I wouldn’t” It’s almost like the speaker is denying him/herself when he/she pushes the memories, scents, time, or this other away..
    “I drink your every month, smell your everyday.
    I inhale your seconds and exhale the hours.
    I soak you in.
    If I could have you again, I wouldn’t.”

  2. ‘ I drink your every month, smell your everyday.
    I inhale your seconds and exhale the hours.
    I soak you in.’
    Such a deep connection with the object of the speaker’s affection , even if it’s over, or is it?
    ‘If I could have you again, I wouldn’t’
    I think you need to write a second part, I MUST read more of it.

  3. Will, I’ve missed your writing so damn much. I loved this piece because the writing flowed very nicely but also because I can relate to this. I like the rhyming in the middle, “cheers, queers, split beers… sharing our deepest fears” I thought that was nice! And I also like how you said if I could have you again, I wouldn’t. That added more power to the poem.

  4. I love the line breaks in this poem, they are exactly in the right places; “You were / Life.” It puts emphasis on the importance of what you’re referring to. And I absolutely loved the end. It was a nice, clean way to bring the poem to a close. “If I could have you again, I wouldn’t. / Lightning only strike once. / So does 2012.” especially how you used lightening to parallel the emotions, like a lesson learned without choosing to make the same mistake again- the ending brings acceptance of what was, reminiscing but not re opening it.

Leave a Reply

