Fireworks (5-5)

 The Heart Chronicles

(Broken or Otherwise)

“Fireworks (July 2 – August 15, 2012)”

 

A text message, I never expected;

an invitation to a congregation of strangers,

acquaintances, and one friend – the hostess.

My brain began to look for fears as excuses:

It’s far, I don’t know them, I’m antisocial.

There weren’t enough reasons to say no,

So I said yes.

 

I was a child with a plush

with no rush to speak to any of her so-called-friends,

but with a beer in one hand and her heart in the other,

she stole me from my bear,

and ignored everyone else.

There weren’t enough reasons to be silent,

So we spoke.

 

The beers were warm, mosquitoes swarmed,

and I was far from Kansas aka Brooklyn.

But her every word was gospel

to this man with no God

and I was not ready to leave this church.

There weren’t enough reasons to leave,

so I stayed.

 

We talked and text from time-to-time

My autobiography in her inbox,

and hers in mine.

But yet, I was afraid; shopping for excuses again:

She’s out of my league, she’ll say no, what chance do I have?

There weren’t enough reasons to not ask,

So I did, awkwardly.

 

There weren’t enough reasons to say no say,

So she said yes.

 

The rain drizzled down on us,

making the boardwalk wet.

Her hand in mine, I tried to muster up some courage

to make the move, to taste her lips.

She knew it, and gave the okay.

There weren’t enough reasons to not kiss her,

So I did, awkwardly.

 

I asked myself,

am I in love?

There weren’t enough reasons to say no,

So I said yes.

2 responses to “Fireworks (5-5)

  1. Oh my god, How I’ve missed the heart chronicles!! These were my favorite last semester. “but with a beer in one hand and her heart in the other” Nice (:
    “My autobiography in her inbox, and hers in mine” ugh I love that line so much Will! How true is that?? lol
    The last stanza did it for me, very cute. But real love? What do you think

Leave a Reply

