For the Love of the Game (9-9)

“For the Love of the Game”

 

The feel of the polyurethane under my feet

As I glide along the sealed concrete,

Is oh so bittersweet.

The wind through your body is bliss

but the pain in the boot is something I wouldn’t miss.

The plastic on the fiberglass reinforced wood

sends waves and vibrations all the way up to my hands.

With every cracking sound, my heart skips a beat

and a jolt goes through my spine

as I push force through Sher-Wood or Christian,

sending my efforts to the back of nylon netting.

Gasping for air, I fill my lungs with love

and pain. Tomorrow will brings sores and bruises

and a smile. Until the next game.

One response to “For the Love of the Game (9-9)

Leave a Reply

