Second to None (11-11)

“Second to None”

 

One of many,

I stand in this line waiting

for you to make your decision,

your selection. The direction you choose

must be clear.

You call my name, I take step forward, you

stop me.

You call the name of another.

You weigh your options and struggle to choose,

announce them as your preference,

expect me to be there if they fail.

You weigh your options and struggle to choose,

but the decision was already made for you.

I step back, back into the line.

I will not be your second choice.

I am no one’s second choice.

I am second to no one.

I am second to none.

3 responses to “Second to None (11-11)

  1. It shows so much strength and personal decision. I like it, it is direct, it is precise, it is straightforward:
    I will not be your second choice.

    I am no one’s second choice.

    I am second to no one.

    I am second to none.
    Those last lines made me feel like clapping!!!!

  2. I like it. Reminds me of when teams are being picked and there’s always that one kid that no one wants and usually ends up sitting the game out (is that what it’s about?) I agree with Maria, the last four lines are very strong and wrap it up nicely with a bow.

Leave a Reply

